



## CITY OF MADISON

cbrannon@madisonthecity.com

1004 Madison Avenue ◆ Post Office Box 40 ◆ Madison, Mississippi 39130-0040 ◆ (601) 856-7116 ◆ Fax (601) 853-4766



MAYOR

Mary Hawkins Butler

CITY CLERK/DIRECTOR

Susan B. Crandall

BOARD OF ALDERMEN

AT LARGE

Sandra Strain

WARD I

Tawanna Tatum

WARD II

Patricia H. Peeler

WARD III

Janie Jarvis

WARD IV

Paul Tankersley

WARD V

Michael L. Hudgins

WARD VI

Guy Bowering

April 2, 2025

## VIA ELECTRONIC DELIVERY TO KYLE.KIRKPATRICK@SOS.MS.GOV

AND U.S. MAIL

Mississippi Secretary of State Office

**Elections Division** 

Attn: Kyle Kirkpatrick, Assistant Secretary of State for Elections

P. O. Box 136

Jackson, MS 39205-0136

RE: Municipal Election, City of Madison

Dear Mr. Kirkpatrick:

Please allow this letter to confirm that the City of Madison Municipal Election Commission met April 2, 2025, and pursuant to *Mississippi Code Ann.* §23-15-361, as amended, dispensed with the Municipal General Election, declaring the following candidates elected without opposition:

Mayor- Mary Hawkins Butler;

Alderman-at-Large- Sandra Strain;

Ward 1- Tawanna Tatum;

Ward 2- Pat Peeler;

Ward 3- Janie Jarvis;

Ward 4- Paul Tankersley

Ward 5- Michael L. Hudgins; and

Ward 6 – Guy Bowering.

A copy of the Order, signed by the Municipal Election Commission is enclosed herein and will be presented to the Board of Aldermen for the City for inclusion in the City's Official Minutes. Should you have any questions or require any further information, please let me know.

Sincerely,

CHELSEA H. BRANNON

Mulse Al Bramer

City Attorney

cc:

City of Madison Municipal Election Commission (via electronic delivery)

J. Nathan Hanson, City Clerk (via electronic delivery)

Enclosure: (as stated)

## City of Madison, Mississippi Municipal Election Commission 1004 Madison Avenue Madison, Mississippi 39110

The Election Commission met in a regular meeting on Wednesday, April 2, 2025, at 2:00 p.m. in the City of Madison City Hall, 1004 Madison Avenue, Madison, Mississippi. Members present included Commissioner Lori Godwin, Commissioner Michael Gandy, Commissioner Steve Morris, Commissioner Kathy Sue Wells and Commissioner Kyle Smith. Also present were City Clerk Nathan Hanson, Chief Deputy City Clerk Lisa Winstead and City Attorney Chelsea Brannon.

In accordance with *Mississippi Code Ann.* §23-15-361, we the Municipal Election Commission of the City of Madison dispense with the June 3, 2025 Municipal General Election, as there was only one (1) person duly qualified for each office. We find that each candidate meets the minimum qualifications to hold the office sought, and we declare the following persons to be elected without opposition:

Mayor- Mary Hawkins Butler

Alderman-at-Large- Sandra Strain

Ward 1 Alderman- Tawanna Tatum

Ward 2 Alderman- Pat Peeler

Ward 3 Alderman-Janie Jarvis

Ward 4 Alderman- Paul Tankersley

Ward 5 Alderman- Michael L. Hudgins

Ward 6 Alderman- Guy Bowering

Commissioner Morris made a motion to dispense with the General Election pursuant to *Mississippi Code Ann.* §23-15-361 and declare each candidate to be elected without opposition as all candidates meet all the qualifications to hold the office sought. The motion was duly seconded by Commissioner Gandy; all in favor and the motion carried.

Signed this the 2nd day of April, 2025.

Lori Godwin

Michael Gandy

Steve Morris

Kathy Sue

Kyle **Sh**iith

Attested:

J. Nathan Hanson, City Clerk





Mayor Mary Hawkins Butler

## NOTICE OF A MEETING OF THE CITY OF MADISON, MISSISSIPPI MUNICIPAL ELECTION COMMISSION

BOARD OF ALDERMEN AT LARGE Sandra Strain

WARD I
Tawanna Tatum

WARD II Patricia H. Peeler

Ward III
Janie Jarvis

WARD IV Paul Tankersley

**WARD V** Michael L. Hudgins

**WARD VI**Guy Bowering

NOTICE is hereby given that a meeting of the City of Madison Municipal Election Commission will be held Wednesday, April 2, 2025 at 2:00 p.m. in the Conference Room at Madison City Hall, 1004 Madison Avenue, Madison, Mississippi. The subject matter of the business to be considered is as follows:

 Discussion and action regarding documentation pertaining to the 2025 Municipal Election and related incidental matters

Kori Godwin, Election Commission Chairman

Posted:

City Hall

Kroger (West)

Library

Madison Justice Complex

Date:

April 2, 2025

Time:

11:00 a.m.

